Energy Committee

Hollis Energy Committee Mission

The Hollis Energy Committee (HEC) was formed in 2009 with the stated goal to "promote energy conservation and efficiency through sustainable energy practices throughout the Town of Hollis". Throughout the history of the HEC the committee has been active in saving Hollis taxpayers' money and moving the town toward a sustainable energy future. The HEC meets on the first Monday of the month in the Town Hall at 7pm or as posted on the town web site.

2018 Projects and Results

Hollis Elementary and Primary School 100KW Solar Electric System

Voters approved energy efficiency improvements at the SAU41 buildings in Hollis at the March 2017 meetings. Both 100KW Solar systems are online with links via the HEC web site. Over the summer the efficiency improvements were installed primarily on HPS with window replacement, building insulation and Air-Source-Heat-Pump installation. The energy savings are being monitored via the EnergyStar.Gov program below.

My Energy Portfolio Tracking

The HEC is tracking the energy data on all sixteen Hollis town buildings via the <u>EnergyStar.gov</u> Energy Portfolio Manager. Eversource is now automatically filling in the electrical energy usage and cost for most buildings. The data will help us identify where to apply our resources to target energy efficiency improvement recommendations resulting in saving taxpayers money.

2019 Planned Projects

- Tracking of energy use at all Hollis Town buildings and recommending improvements
- Greenhouse education solar project at the middle school
- Street Lighting upgrades
- Building code update to improve efficiency of all new construction and renovation
- Outreach information sessions on sustainable energy technologies for residents

Hollis Energy Committee Members

The Hollis Energy Committee consists of 7 regular members and 2 alternates. A minimum of 4 members constitute a quorum to conduct a meeting. The DPW director and Town Admin are members per BOS.

Eric Ryherd, Chairman Mike Leavit, Secretary Venu Rao Paul Happy Woody Hayes Adam Jacobs (Alternate) Eitan Zeira (Alternate) Todd Croteau (DPW Director) Town Administrator Peter Band (Select Board Rep)